The Definitive Guide to

The Silver Arrow

Written by Lev Grossman
1234567
6.25 / 7.0
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 4.0 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Jun 30
$16.99
Retail Price
$14.44
Bookshop
$9.66
used $0.91
Amazon
Sep 1, 2020
Publication Date
272
Pages
8-12
Target Age

What's The Silver Arrow About

Publisher Summary

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Magicians comes a must-read, wholly original middle-grade debut perfect for fans of The Chronicles of Narnia and Roald Dahl Dear Uncle Herbert, You’ve never met me, but I’m your niece Kate, and since it is my birthday tomorrow and you are super-rich could you please send me a present? Kate and her younger brother Tom lead dull, uninteresting lives. And if their dull, uninteresting parents are anything to go by, they don’t have much to look forward to. Why can’t Kate have thrilling adventures and save the world the way people do in books? Even her 11th birthday is shaping up to be mundane – that is, until her mysterious and highly irresponsible Uncle Herbert, whom she’s never even met before, surprises her with the most unexpected, exhilarating, inappropriate birthday present of all time: a colossal steam locomotive called the Silver Arrow. Kate and Tom’s parents want to send it right back where it came from. But Kate and Tom have other ideas – and so does the Silver Arrow – and soon they’re off to distant lands along magical rail lines in the company of an assortment of exotic animals who, it turns out, can talk. With only curiosity, excitement, their own resourcefulness and the thrill of the unknown to guide them, Kate and Tom are on the adventure of a lifetime . . . and who knows? They just might end up saving the world after all. This thrilling fantasy adventure will not only entertain young readers but inspire them to see the beautiful, exciting, and precious world around them with new eyes.

What Kind of Book is The Silver Arrow

What Should I Know As a Parent

Families are unique and have different expectations for the books they choose to read. The following is a list of concepts included in this book that some parents may wish to seek out or avoid.

Language: One use of "Oh my God"

Note that this list is not exhaustive and there may be concepts in this book that are not included or have been insufficiently or incorrectly detailed here.

Book Lists That Include The Silver Arrow

Book Topics › action and adventure
Awesome Children's Books About Adventure
Book Topics › animals
Adorable Children's Books About Animals
Book Topics › birthdays
Brilliant Children's Books About Birthdays
Book Topics › the environment
Children's Books About The Environment
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote The Silver Arrow

What Has Lev Grossman Said About The Silver Arrow

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Lev know that you want more details about The Silver Arrow!

Book Details

ISBN:
9780316539531
Publication Date:
September 1, 2020
Word Count:
36298
Library of Congress Number (LCCN):
2020018373
ASIN/ISBN 10:
0316539538
Lexile® Level:
740L
ATOS® Book Level:
4.9
Accelerated Reader® Points:
5.0
Accelerated Reader Quiz:
509903
Accelerated Reader Interest Level:
MG

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 66%
Making good progress . . .
Depth Score - 21%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.